Don't Trust Them  

music
tshirt

contact

Picasso, ACAB and trash humanity: thoughts and constructive ideas on the the current pictures of Andreas Leikauf

MARTIN BEHR

1)

Extinction threatens. The public telephone kiosk has been on slow fade-out for some time now, the typewriter can squeeze a look in at the most on the art pages, pencil sharpener and carbon paper are no longer permanent fixtures on the writing desk, and stickers on the backs of cars are gradually disappearing from the public space. There used to be a habit lasting into the seventies in certain social groups of sticking pictures and/or sayings on what is supposedly the second skin of the (male) human being, namely, car bodies. Based on the baroque tradition of heraldry, car owners used these temporary public tattoos to publicise their sense of humour, also intimate details of their life. For instance, "Bonking is fun" was the heading to be read above a comic-type depiction of a copulating couple. Or: "My Hobby: Screwing". Or: "Hurray! I'm first again." Apart from the eagerness to bill-post obscenities, stickers were used to give the lie to one's own (sad) financial situation. Many a "My Other Car is a Rolls Royce" sticker could be seen, stuck preferably on rusty crates that could just about gasp down the road.

The unbridgeable gap between the emblazoned statement and the presumed, in fact obvious reality was meant to motivate the one who saw the sticker to a smile. Stickers are assigned to the lowest order of trivia and their significance is fading - who wants be to be outed as a crude, small-town macho? - but meanwhile Andreas Leikauf exploits the slogan mentality in his painting. "My other painting is a picasso" is the title of one of his pictures. The inscription consists of red-outlined, white letters that animate a black, undefinable form - a flag? a pillow? - which is again in contrast to the red, square picture ground. Leikauf exploits the below-the-belt-hitting messages in the classic car sticker with tongue-in-cheek self-irony; he supposes a fictional collector (or himself) who has to justify himself for a Leikauf painting. Picasso is a universal synonym for something noble and financially prohibitive, comparable with a Rolls Royce. Even people who have nothing to do with art know what it's all about. The artist is piling on the associations. With a twinkle in his eye and retro-charm.



 2)

Do something. Anything. Range through the streets, beg for money from complete strangers, not just a couple of cents, but one or two euros straight from the shoulder and then spend them on beer in the next supermarket. Lie on a bench for hours in the palace gardens. Enjoy the warming rays of the sun. Listen to the mating calls of the peacocks and the crunch of strolling shoes on the gravel. Wonder at the sight of pensioner couples supporting each other with clasped hands. Saunter past the fruit stand in the shopping street and filch pears and a banana on the way. Not quite ripe enough, the pears. Get together with friends near the public fountain and exchange plans for the evening. Maybe spray ACAB again on a power supply terminal or on one of the wall posters of the hated business concern. In black. Or even better, in red. As often as possible. In the tried and tested group of three. Perfect team. All cops are bastards. Don't get caught doing it. Think about the graffiti of the early days. AC/DC writing, obscene scribbles on the wooden backrests of bucket seats in public transport vehicles, telephone numbers that are never correctly specified, stuck chewing gum, and SK STURM letters written in thick Edding script.

Do something. Buy a ticket for the football match in the stadium. Swear at the fans of the opposing team. Bastards and so on. Poofs. Let off steam. Let the cooped-up energies flow. Fist-threaten, suggest self-assurance and strength in the massed crowd. Commit word crimes. Drink beer. Swing your scarf. Move to the rhythm of the fan anthems: You'll never walk alone... Trying subtle ruses to win the attention of a girl who for weeks has always sat in the row next to the sector entrance. Throw her an occasional look. Standing here we're out of our minds. But then go home again alone. Fill yourself with beer till you're legless. Listen to Dystopia. Love the earth and hate people. Stare at the boxes, sozzled. Work up sympathy towards them. Discover faces in them. Filter the compact humming of a passenger plane out of the monotonous sounds of a car and imagine passengers. How they select family viewing from Hollywood on the screens on board and are stuffed to the gills with farmed salmon.

Have something else. Make the effect stronger. Tumble in colour spaces. And think again of the couple from the plane. How their holidays were spoiled by fits of tears on the beach at night. To see the tears trickle out of the corners of the other one's eyes. Emotion-wrought faces. And silence. Think of Frankie Teardrop. Be a Happy Loser.

3)

"2 Reasons", "Could be art", "What a nice day", "Only the bad survive", "The sky is the reason why", "Home sweet hell", "Ready to riot". Andreas Leikauf's picture titles are like the set list of a rock concert. Formulations taken or adapted from the everyday world, pop, TV, film, fashion, advertising and comics, which we seem to know at first glance. They sound familiar. The words in English are always the title of the whole picture. Frequently the words, phrases, ideas and sayings are written in unspectacular capitals, occasionally the kind of painted letters intensifies their effect. For instance when he uses the horror-film and gothic novel tradition and the letters run as though with blood, intensifying the bloodthirsty character. Or a script style is dominated by jagged tines and zigzags, enhancing the subcultural magic in the inherent message. Leikauf chooses lower-case and handwriting if he wants to give his picture the updated, magazine-style graphic quality of a title page.

Leikauf slogans have a direct and intense relationship to his compositions. Words and motifs are shreds of a flood of images and texts that envelops us, into which the artist plunges, retrieving selected fragments on land, abstracted, combined, augmented and thus shaped into new meanings. With this dialogue between image and text-definition Leikauf is placed in a long Austrian tradition including Fritz von Herzmanovsky-Orlando, Alfred Kubin right through to G√ľnter Brus and many more artists. The texts can be interpreted in many ways. There are merely captions for the signified; proverb-like, empty idioms, yet, when put in relationship to the painting, they are filled with content again; furthermore, are instructions or challenges for action to do this or that, poetic miniatures, trashy spoofs, calls for action, questions; attempts, full of pathos, to explain the world, statements on the situation, one-word titles with double meaning, and so much more. Word-recycling that raises image-recycling from newspapers and magazines to a new level: platitudes are exposed, glossy pictures start to fade, idylls waver and wither, the normal and everyday is given a filter that muddies and blurs; the simple, the unspectacular, the detail is recharged. The letters and words seem to float in the picture space or are interwoven with parts of the picture, for instance notes, banderoles, jackets, t-shirts, ties and other pieces of clothing. Leikauf presents the beholder an updated heraldry, counteracted by the seeming beauty of the youthful persons being portrayed. These mostly two-coloured pictures reverberate with the following: triste emptiness and the counsel not to be ingenuous. "Don‚?(TM)t trust them" could be a picture title by Andreas Leitkauf.



4)

Ashtrays, cigarettes and cigarette lighters are lying on the table. Illuminated by red light. At the back: the woman with the long black hair, legs crossed, relaxed, her bent arms resting on them. Snug. The bright suite of furniture positioned at a right angle betrays the owner's style. A flat-screen TV might be hanging on the wall of this room, the fridge is possible filled with Napa Valley Fume Blanc, the ultra-mini CD player is accustomed to have Norah Jones and Carla Bruni sliding into it. Recently Amy Winehouse as well. Life, a wish-fulfilment dream. One without faces. Without a human countenance. An illusion? Three words document the abrupt climb-down from the idealised image of a consumer-oriented world, down to seething uncertainty: is everything a chimera? Human howling behind the closed facade? Nothing other than a glossy exterior? Could be perfect are the three words. Note: in the conditional tense. So not the dream world after all. "Life is struggle and stress - that's all. There are short periods when you are contented. Everything else is worry - about the family, or yourself," says the football trainer Ivan "Ivica" Osim. Struggle and stress. That's it. Isn't someone sitting opposite the woman? Sketchily, you can just make out a bit of a (male?) hand and trousers. Could be perfect. If the situation wasn't as it is. Because the words of confrontation, avoided so long, are now going to break out. Maybe. Maybe the relationship drama can't be cemented any more. It's all over, lost. But the main thing is to keep your poise. Don't loose your cool. Show your style, even in grief, in frustration. "Can I get you anything?" Don't let yourself be seen as a particle of trash humanity. Trash humanity? General meeting of writing signs? The necessity of determining the outcome of the self? Now, at the latest, we know what's going on. Werner Schwab. Dirt has work character, goodness has work character, he writes in the essay Der Dreck und das Gute. Das Gute und der Dreck. (Dirt and Goodness. Goodness and Dirt). The culmination point has material character, despair is material character. And boredom is the high-security main material of the basic well-being industry. Andreas Leikauf dips his trash humanity in garish colours; he models expressive woodcuts, which manage without the material of wood and consist of collective longings and individual crises. Their general meeting of writing signs contributes to smoothing out rivalries.

Dirt and goodness. They are often balanced out in equilibrium in Leikauf's pictures. But: only hinted at, not formulated. They mix to become a catalyst for stories in the heads of the observers. Narrative force without claiming truth. Conditional, in fact. Could. Maybe. Maybe everything is quite different. No last attempt at saying what you feel. No Carla Bruni. No trash humanity. "Would you like a cigarette" A perfect evening. Isn't it?



5)

So that junkies in public toilets have problems finding their veins, municipal authorities in the major cities install intensive blue light in them. This makes the human blood vessels which are to absorb the poison lose contour. Dominant colour spaces and moods also characterise Andreas Leikauf's pictures: refulgent turquoise, brightened pea-green, the most diverse shades of red and purple, shadowy brown, pale blue, pale pink, creamy ochre, on rare occasions white, yellow or a fashionable orange. The dominance of one colour in combination with the black of figural representation attracts attention, intensifies the viewing angle of the observer. This conciseness with a tendency towards dramatic expression recalls penny-dreadful covers, for example, details, enlargements of details from the title pages of old Jerry Cotton stories. The love of trash culture, underground and junk is quoted here, just as in Wolfgang Bauer's poem "The Heart": Because of a lack of a few dollars/ I rip out my heart once more/dash it spraying blood onto the black counter/of a little bar in Tijuana/avoiding the bloodbath/I drink my tequila/outside/I hear Chet Baker's flute trumpet blowing smoky/the sound comes straight from the heat/from a white clour/these are my shoot outs (...). The garish, the sensuous quality in the formal aesthetics used by Leikauf is mellowed by a peculiar tranquillity, almost boredom radiated by the portrayed persons. Leikauf shows his figures mostly in a state of pause, still thought, tormenting self-doubt, or questioning curiosity.

Only rarely are dynamic or action-filled poses shown. Instead: the still glance to the side, staring into space, head slightly bowed to the floor, the head only partly visible, and sometimes direct eye contact. Despite youth and beauty and evident prosperity they quite often arouse pity, the Leikauf figures, which could have originated in a film, a magazine photo or a 16 sheet poster. They make a somehow irritated impression, not honest with themselves, out of place, too. Right time to be wrong. Who embroidered Hell on the pretty couch cushion? Isn't that a tear on the girl's face with the sad eyes and long plaits? And why doesn't the skinny man feel good, the one with the face of a pop star? Something's wrong here. Life, a mistake. A way into the mire. Serious case scenario. This is it, has been for a long time. Serious case scenario. Normal state of affairs, has been for a long time. Yes, yes wrong colours. Serious case scenario in the centre of civilisation. And there's no help. No intense blue light, either.

-----> top
 



prints
grafix

Vertraut ihnen nicht  

music
tshirt

contact

Picasso, ACAB und Krempelmenschentum: Gedanken und weiterführende überlegungen zu den aktuellen Bildern von Andreas Leikauf.

MARTIN BEHR

1)

Was nicht alles vom Aussterben bedroht ist. Der öffentlichen Telefonzelle geht es seit einiger Zeit gar nicht gut, die Schreibmaschine findet bestenfalls noch im Feuilleton ein Plätzchen, Bleistiftspitzer und Blaupapier sind keine Fixpunkte auf dem Bürotisch mehr und die für das Heck des Automobils produzierten Aufkleber verschwinden immer mehr aus dem öffentlichen Bild. Noch in den 70-er Jahren war es in gewissen Kreisen en vogue, die angeblich zweite Haut des (männlichen) Menschen, die Autokarosserie also, mit Pickerln, die Darstellungen und/oder Sprüche aufwiesen, zu bekleben. Basierend auf der barocken Tradition der Emblematik verkündeten Automobilbesitzer mit diesen temporary tattoos der öffentlichkeit ihre Geisteshaltung, ihren Humor, auch Details aus ihrem intimen Liebesleben. "Vögeln macht Spaß", stand da etwa als überschrift zu einem comichaft gezeichneten, kopulierenden Paar zu lesen. Oder: "Mein Hobby: Bumsen". Oder: "Hurra! Ich bin schon wieder Erster." Jenseits der plakativ-obszönen Mitteilungsbereitschaft wurden auch Aufkleber gesichtet, die der Kaschierung der eigenen (tristen) Finanzlage dienlich waren. Das "Mein anderes Auto ist ein Rolls Royce"-Pickerl fand sich vornehmlich auf gerade noch fahrtüchtigen Rostschüsseln.

Die unüberbrückbare Kluft zwischen der aufgestellten Behauptung und der vermuteten, auf der Hand liegenden Realität sollte Betrachter des Pickerls zum Schmunzeln motivieren. Während die Bedeutung der im untersten Trivialbereich angesiedelten Autoaufkleber im Schwinden begriffen ist ?"  wer will sich schon als derber, kleinbürgerlicher Macho outen? ?" greift Andreas Leikauf die Wahlspruchmentalität in seiner Malerei auf. "My other painting is a picasso" lautet der Titel eines seiner Bilder. Der Schriftzug besteht aus rotumrandeten weißen Lettern, die eine schwarze, nicht näher definierbare Form -- eine Fahne? ein Polster? ?" beleben, welche wiederum mit dem roten, viereckigen Bildgrund kontrastiert. Leikauf greift die augenzwinkernde Selbstironie der unter der Gürtellinie angesiedelten Botschaften im klassischen Autopickerl auf, indem er einem fiktiven Sammler (oder sich selbst) unterstellt, sich für ein Leikauf-Gemälde rechtfertigen zu müssen. Picasso steht als breitenwirksames Synonym für etwas Hehres und Unerschwingliches, vergleichbar mit dem Rolls Royce. Auch jene, die der Kunst fern stehen, wissen, worum es geht. Der Künstler stapelt tief. Mit Augenzwinkern und mit Retrocharme.

  

2)

Irgendetwas tun. Durch die Straßen ziehen, wildfremde Menschen um Geld, nicht um ein paar Cent, gleich um ein, zwei Euro bitten und diese dann im Supermarkt in Dosenbier umsetzen. Im Schlosspark stundenlang auf einer Bank liegen. Die wärmende Sonne genießen. Die Balzrufe der Pfaue und das Knirschen der Parkbesucherschuhe auf den Kieselsteinen hören. Sich über die Pensionistenpaare, deren ineinander verschlungene Hände sich stützen, wundern. Beim Obststand in der Einkaufsstraße dann Birnen und eine Banane mitgehen lassen. Noch nicht reif genug, die Birnen. Mit Freunden nahe dem öffentlichen Brunnen abklatschen und Pläne für den Abend austauschen. Eventuell wieder ACAB auf einen Stromkasten oder auf eine der Plakatwände des verhassten Unternehmers sprayen. In schwarz. Oder besser in rot. Möglichst oft. In der bewährten Dreiergruppe. Perfekt eingespielt. All cops are bastards. Sich dabei nicht erwischen lassen. An die Graffiti aus Kindheitstagen denken. An AC/DC-Schriftzüge, an Fut-Gekritzel auf den hölzernen Hinterseiten der Schalensitze in öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel, an Telefonnummern, die nie korrekt angegeben sind, an aufgeklebte Kaugummis und die mit dem dicken Edding-Stift geschriebenen SK STURM-Lettern.

Irgendetwas unternehmen. Sich eine Karte für das Fußballspiel im Stadion leisten. Dort die Fans der gegnerischen Mannschaft beflegeln. Hurensöhne und so. Arschwarme. Druck ablassen. Aufgestaute, innere Energie ausfließen lassen. Mit Drohgebärden in der Masse sich Selbstvertrauen und Stärke suggerieren. Zum Verbaltäter werden. Biertrinken. Schalschwingen. Sich im Rhythmus der Fangesänge bewegen: Jetzt geht es los, wir hüpfen auf und nieder, wir sind verrückt, und singen immer wieder: Allez, allez, allez, allez. Sich dezent um die Zuneigung eines Mädchens bemühen, das in der Reihe neben dem Sektoreingang seit Wochen seinen Fixplatz hat. Ihr fallweise Blicke zuwerfen. Wenn wir hier stehen, sind wir wie benommen. Dann aber doch wieder alleine nach Hause gehen. Sich mit Bier voll dröhnen. Dystopia hören. Die Erde lieben und die Menschen hassen. Im Suff die Kartons anstarren, zu ihnen Sympathien aufbauen und Gesichter in ihnen entdecken. Das kurze Brummen eines Passagierflugzeugs aus den gleichförmigen Autogeräuschen herausfiltern und sich dessen Passagiere vorstellen. Wie sie auf den Bordbildschirmen Familientaugliches aus Hollywood auswählen und mit Zuchtlachs vollgestopft werden.

Irgendetwas einnehmen noch. Die Wirkung verstärken. In Farbräume taumeln. Und sich noch einmal die Pärchen aus dem Flugzeug vorstellen. Wie deren Urlaub durch Weinkrämpfe am nächtlichen Strand beeinträchtigt war. Die Tränen aus den Augenwinkeln des Anderen heraus rinnen sehen. Betroffenheit in den Gesichtern. Und Stummheit. An Frankie Teardrop von Suicide denken. Ein Happy Loser sein.

 

3)

" 2 Reasons", "Could be art", "What a nice day", "Only the bad survive", "The sky is the reason why", "Home sweet hell", "Ready to riot". Die Bildtitel von Andreas Leikauf gleichen der Setlist eines Rockkonzerts. Es sind aus der Alltagswelt, aus Pop, TV, Film, Mode, Werbung oder Comic übernommene, beziehungsweise adaptierte Formulierungen, die auf den ersten Blick bekannt erscheinen. Die vertraut klingen. Die in die Bilder geschriebenen Worte in englischer Sprache sind stets auch die Titel für das ganze Bild. Häufig werden die Worte, Begriffe und Redewendungen in unspektakulären Großbuchstaben geschrieben, bisweilen verstärkt die Art der gemalten Buchstaben deren Wirkung. Etwa wenn die Tradition aus Horrorfilmen und Gruselromanen übernommen wird und die Buchstaben nach unten hin Rinnspuren aufweisen, was den Charakter des Blutrünstigen verstärken soll. Oder aber ein von Zacken dominierter Schriftstil verstärkt den subkulturellen Charme der innewohnenden Botschaft. Kleinschreibung und Schreibschrift wiederum wählt Leikauf, wenn er seinem Bild eine zeitgeistige, magazinähnliche grafische Titelblattqualität verpassen möchte.

Die Leikauf'schen Slogans stehen zu den Darstellungen in einem direkten, intensiven Bezug. Worte wie Motive sind Versatzstücke aus einer uns umgebenden Bilder-, und Textflut, in die der Künstler abtaucht und ausgewählte Fragmente ans Land bringt, abstrahiert, kombiniert, erweitert und so zu neuen Bedeutungen verbindet. Mit diesem Dialog aus Darstellung und Textbeschreibung steht Leikauf in einer langen österreichischen Tradition, in die sich unter anderem Fritz von Herzmanovsky-Orlando, Alfred Kubin bis hinauf zu Günter Brus zahlreiche Kunstschaffende eingereiht haben. Die Texte können vielfältig gedeutet werden. Es gibt bloße Beschriftungen des Gezeigten, Sinnspruchartiges, leere Redewendungen, die ?" in Bezug mit der Malerei gesetzt ?" doch wieder mit Inhalten gefüllt werden, weiters Handelsanweisungen oder Aufforderungen, dies oder das zu tun, poetische Miniaturen, Trashverulkungen, Ausrufe, Fragestellungen, pathetische Welterklärungsversuche, Feststellungen zur Lage, Einworttitel mit doppeltem Boden und noch vieles andere mehr. Wortrecycling also, welches die aus Zeitungen und Zeitschriften vorgenommene Bilderwiederverwertung auf eine neue Ebene hebt: Platitüden werden entlarvt, Hochglanzbilder beginnen zu kippen, Idyllen wanken und welken, das Gewohnte erhält einen Filter, der verunklärt, das Einfache, Unspektakuläre, das Detail wird aufgeladen. Die Buchstaben und Worte scheinen im Bildraum zu schweben oder sind mit Teilen des Bildes, etwa Zettel, Banderolen, Jacken, T-Shirts, Krawatten oder anderen Kleidungsstücken verwoben. Leikauf präsentiert dem Betrachter eine zeitgemäße Emblematik, deren schöner Schein der dargestellten, jugendlichen Personen konterkariert wird. Im Nachhall dieser meist zweifärbigen Bilder schwingt Folgendes mit: traurige Leere und der Rat, nicht leichtgläubig zu sein. Don't trust them", könnte ein Bildtitel von Andreas Leikauf lauten.

 

4)

 Aschenbecher, Zigaretten und Feuerzeug liegen am Tisch. Von Rotlicht beschienen. Dahinter: Die Frau mit dem langen schwarzen Haar, die Beine entspannt übereinander geschlagen, die Arme auf diesen angewinkelt ruhend. Gemütlich. Die helle, ums Eck gehende Sitzgruppe verrät Stil des Besitzers. Im Zimmer könnte ein Flachbildschirm an der Wand hängen, der Kühlschrank ist eventuell gefüllt mit Napa Valley Fume Blanc, der ultrakleine CD-Player ist gewohnt, Norah Jones und Carla Bruni eingeschoben zu bekommen. Neuerdings auch Amy Winehouse. Das Leben, ein Wunschbild. Eines ohne Gesichter. Ohne menschliches Antlitz. Ein Trugbild? Drei Worte dokumentieren den jähen Abstieg von der idealisierten Vorstellung einer konsumorientierten Welt, hinab zur brodelnden Ungewissheit: Alles Schimäre? Menschlicher Jammer hinter der geschönten Fassade? Nichts als schöner Schein? Could be perfect, heißen die drei Worte. Wohlgemerkt: Konjunktiv. Also eben doch nicht heile Welt. "Das Leben ist Kampf und Krampf ?" das ist alles. Es gibt nur kurze Perioden, in denen man zufrieden ist. Alles andere sind Sorgen ?" um die Familie oder um sich selbst", sagt der Fußballtrainer Ivan "Ivica" Osim. Kampf und Krampf. Genau. Sitzt der Frau nicht jemand gegenüber? Schemenhaft sind ein Teil einer (männlichen?) Hand und einer Hose zu sehen. Could be perfect. Wenn eben nicht die Situation so wäre, wie sie ist. Weil jetzt die lange hinaus gezögerte Aussprache beginnt. Vielleicht. Vielleicht lässt sich das Beziehungsdrama auch nicht mehr kitten. Alles verloren. Aber eben Haltung zeigen. Nicht aus der Rolle fallen. Stil zeigen, auch im Gram, im Verdruss. "Darf ich Dir etwas bringen?" Sich nicht als Teilmenge des Krempelmenschentums ausweisen. Krempelmenschentum? Schriftzeichenvollversammlung? Selbstergebnisdeterminierungsnotwendigkeit? Spätestens jetzt wissen wir Bescheid. Werner Schwab. Der Dreck habe Werkscharakter, das Gute habe Werkscharakter, schreibt dieser im Essay Der Dreck und das Gute. Das Gute und der Dreck. Und weiter: Der Kulminationspunkt habe Werkstoffcharakter, die Verzweiflung sei Werkstoffcharakter. Und die Langeweile sei der Hochsicherheitshauptstoff der Grundbefindlichkeitsindustrie. Andreas Leikauf taucht sein Krempelmenschentum in grelle Farben und modelliert aus kollektiven Sehnsüchten und individuellen Nöten expressive Holzschnitte, die ohne den Werkstoff Holz auskommen. Deren Schriftenvollversammlung zur Enttrivialisierung beiträgt.

Der Dreck und das Gute. Halten in den Leikauf'schen Bildern oft Balance. Freilich: Nur angedeutet, nicht ausformuliert. Vermischen sich zu einem Katalysator für Geschichten in den Köpfen der BetrachterInnen. Narrative Kraft ohne Wahrheitsanspruch. Konjunktiv eben. Könnte, vielleicht. Vielleicht ist alles ganz anders. Kein letzter Ausspracheversuch. Keine Carla Bruni. Kein Krempelmenschentum. "Magst Du eine Zigarette?" Ein perfekter Abend. Oder nicht?

 

5)

 Damit Junkies in öffentlichen Toilettenanlagen ihre Venen nicht oder nur schwer auffinden können, lassen Stadtverwaltungen in größeren Städten intensives Blaulicht montieren. Dadurch verlieren die menschlichen Gefäße, die das Gift aufnehmen sollen, an Kontur. Dominante Farbräume und ?"Stimmungen prägen auch die Bilder von Andreas Leikauf: leuchtendes Türkis, aufgehelltes Erbsengrün, unterschiedlichste Rot- und Violetttöne, schattiges Braun, blassblau, blassrosa, cremiges Ocker, selten aber doch Weiß, Gelb oder ein modisches Orange. Die Dominanz einer Farbe in Kombination mit dem Schwarz der figuralen Darstellung lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich, intensiviert die Blickrichtung der BetrachterInnen. Diese Prägnanz mit Hang zur Dramatik erinnert an Groschenroman-Covergestaltungen, beispielsweise an Ausschnitte, Vergrößerungen von Details aus Titelseiten alter Jerry-Cotton-Hefte. Die Liebe zur Trashkultur, zu Underground und Junk wird hier ?" ebenso wie beispielsweise in Wolfgang Bauers Gedicht "Das Herz" zitiert: In Ermangelung einiger Dollars/reiße ich wieder einmal mein Herz heraus/ knalle es blutspritzend auf die schwarze Theke/ einer kleinen Bar in Tijuana/ dem Blutbad entweichend/ trinke ich meinen Tequila/ draußen/ höre ich Chet Bakers Flötentrompete rauchig blasen/ mitten aus der Hitze kommt der Ton/ von einer weißen Wolke/ das sind so meine Schießereien (?). Das Grelle, das Sinnliche in der von Leikauf angewandten formalen ästhetik wird durch eine eigentümliche Ruhe, fast schon Fadesse, die von den dargestellten Personen ausgeht, gemildert. Leikauf zeigt seine Figuren meist im Stadium des Innehaltens, des stillen Nachdenkens, der quälenden Selbstzweifel oder in fragender Neugier.

Ganz selten sind actionreiche Posen dargestellt. Stattdessen: der stille Blick zur Seite, Narrenkastlschauen, der leicht zu Boden gesenkte Kopf, der nur teilweise sichtbare Kopf und manchmal ein direkter Augenkontakt. Trotz Jugend und Schönheit und offensichtlichem Wohlstand erwecken sie nicht selten Mitleid, die Leikauf-Figuren, die einem Film, einem Magazinfoto oder einem 16 Bogenplakat entsprungen sein könnten. Die irgendwie irritiert, desorientiert, mit sich selbst nicht im Reinen, die auch deplaziert wirken. Right time to be wrong. Wer hat denn Hell auf den hübschen Couchpolster gestickt? Ist da nicht eine Träne im Gesicht des Mädchens mit den traurigen Augen und den langen Zöpfen zu sehen? Und warum fühlt sich der Hagere, der mit dem Popstargesicht, nicht wohl? Irgendwas stimmt hier nicht. Das Leben, ein Irrtum. Ein Weg in den Morast. Ernstfall. Es ist schon längst soweit. Ernstfall. Normalzustand seit langer Zeit. Ja, ja Fehlfarben. Ernstfall im Zentrum der Zivilisation. Und nichts hilft mehr. Auch kein intensives Blaulicht.

-----> top
 



prints
grafix